Wildlife pond beginner

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi. I've dug out a hole for a wildlife pond 3.5m by 2.5m with maximum depth 1m. It is underneath a decking bridge and won't have a pump or filter. The plank of wood in the photos is where the top of the liner will be. The end towards the lawn will be a shallow beach with pebbles. As the top of the liner will be about 20cm below the lawn, I'm wondering what to do with the liner when it meets the lawn? Just cut it down and cover with rocks? If anyone can spot any mistakes I've made please let me know as this is my first attempt at a pond.

20220524_184435_resized (1).jpg
20220524_184839.jpg
20220524_205641.jpg
20220524_205657.jpg
20220524_205711.jpg
20220524_210243.jpg

JRS

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States
Nice spot you have there.

Looks like you have fairly rocky soil. It would be a good idea to use an underlayment to protect your liner if you are not already. You could excavate the edge a bit, fold the liner under itself and cover with rocks for a smooth transition to your lawn.

Usually better to save as much liner on your edges as possible for future use or adjustments by folding it under as opposed to cutting it off.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks, yes definitely using underlay and will try to get rid of as many rocks and stones as possible before laying it.

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States