Above Ground Pond Long Island NY

Reaction score
Just covered my totally above ground pond which is 8'x8'x3'deep with two sheets of 3/4 plywood covered with tar paper, added aerator, shut down filter and removed pump. Added floating heater but not plugged in yet.

Water temp at 1foot off the bottom was 34f today. They all seem fine just in slow motion. Pond is totally cleaned of leaves. Keeping my fingers crossed until March

Honey Bees are all clustered as well.

Reaction score
Any opinions I'm in Zone 7 On Long Island ? Like to hear from others especially people local to me with comments or suggestions.

Reaction score
Pretty much the same weather here. You are about a 4 hr drive from me... it may be quicker by boat ... We are on Cape Cod... We do not cover our pond and leave the filters on... What type of help are you looking for... there are lots of folks here with similar weather.

Reaction score
I'm new to Koi but have had tropical fish all my life and used to breed discus fish. I'm just looking to hear from people with similar situations with totally above ground ponds and how their fish did over winter and any techniques etc... that seemed to work for them. My pond is a square pond built out of 4x4's stacked 10 high.

just would like to hear your experiences, so I know what to sort of expect come spring time.

Thank you all in advance

Reaction score
I dont have any experience with above ground ponds in the winter either, but know a few local folks who have tie frames as you are describing... I dont recall anyone covering their ponds like you have, but that doesnt make you wrong. I know one person brings her fish in, as she does worry about it freezing, but that is about it. That said, we also have a few clients with tiny "inground" ponds (500-600 gallons) and all they do is shut the filters off...