Baltimore, MD Pond Newbie... middle of diggin...

Reaction score
Hi All,

So glad I found this forum!

I am brand new to ponding and eager to begin! My goal is to create a small 500ish gallon semi-formal/zen like pond in my back yard. My son is home from college and helping me dig out the pond 3ish wide x 2.5ish deep x 8ish long. It has been TOUGH going because we are digging through clay!!! Yikes, had to use a post hole pounder. I will try to post a picture. What to do with all that clay has also been a dilemma. We decided to just evenly distribute it along the backyard slope which is pretty much barren. In the fall I'll cover with mulch.
Anywhoooo, we are just about through digging and ready to lay down the liner. I have purchased 8 x 12 pavers for all along the edge. My dilemma is one length of the pond is against a slope. I hope you can see this in the photo. We plan to level the slope side with the front side and slightly angel back the slope side (maybe 1.5 ") so when rain water flows down from the slope it angles away from the pond’s lip. I guess I have to also create a run off to the side.

Suggestions are very welcome! Thanks, Kristina

Attachments

• digging pond.JPG
    digging pond.JPG
    123.6 KB · Views: 305

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
welcomefromgang4.gif
to our group! another marylander

My pond is on a serious slope. The up slope edge, I made sure the dirt close to the pond sloped back and away from the pond. When doing the dirt work, I tried to have the center of the pond's dirt the highest (upslope edge) the dirt to either side dropping off to direct the water around the pond.
I also dug a trench, about 6 inches or so and put in gravel, covered it with landscape fabric to direct the water away from the pond. So far no issues when we get the heavy rains.

Reaction score