bog question ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
good morning everyone, i have a bog question i completed my bog last year this is my first year as a bog owner, my question is im starting to get a build up of crud on the top of the gravel, not in all areas but i would say 60% of the bog the crud is about 1cm deep. i have been re routing my outlet into the garden and just hosing the crud off which is ok will the crud cease to be once the plants start taking off or is it just a part of having the bog ? its only started this in the last month is it with the water warming up a little ? its not in full sun, some of the plants are a little yellow (iris,watercress,umbrella grass,arum lily,forget me not,creeping jenny,hostas) normally this time off year i would have blanket weed but none up to now which is great i have a uv but its not turned on hasnt been since november so again that is great, im just concerned about the crud as i dont want it running into the main pond, any ideas as to why i have crud ? thank you for any responses. cheers mark.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I have the same thing every spring in my bog. 've done it both ways - stir it up so it all moves along and left it alone. In both cases, like you said, once the plants start it's gone. When I do stir it up, it goes into the pond and that's the end of that. It settles and doesn't cause any issues.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have the same thing every spring in my bog. 've done it both ways - stir it up so it all moves along and left it alone. In both cases, like you said, once the plants start it's gone. When I do stir it up, it goes into the pond and that's the end of that. It settles and doesn't cause any issues.