buying koi now

Reaction score
if i bought say five or six small koi now and started on my koi pond this spring...how long could i keep them in a fish tank and what size tank and fish would be best. like start them in house and transfer them to pond when done? I am really wanting some ;) now :fish: probably get them cheaper right now as well.

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
i guess you could get yourself a stocktank to house your fish in, if your dead set on getting some now...then build your filter with the stocktank come the completion of your pond..

Reaction score
so how big would say a 5 inch koi get in one year fed and taken care of properly...i dont want to buy them and then them not have enough space obviously. just cause i want them now dont mean it best for me to get them now and what size tank would i need for say five five inch koi? i would think would be no different than wintering them inside but again i am new to this idea so dont mean i know squat. so feel free to tell me just the way it is...gotta learn some way :fish:

DrDave

Innovator
Reaction score
ymaddox said:
so how big would say a 5 inch koi get in one year fed and taken care of properly...i dont want to buy them and then them not have enough space obviously. just cause i want them now dont mean it best for me to get them now and what size tank would i need for say five five inch koi? i would think would be no different than wintering them inside but again i am new to this idea so dont mean i know squat. so feel free to tell me just the way it is...gotta learn some way :fish:

It all depends on conditions, frequency of feeding, the water quality, food and so on. Then you have some koi that are slow growers. A 5" koi might grow 3 or more inches in a year.

Reaction score