Cats and the pond

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I have installed a new small pond and have got a few goldfish for it. I am new to the pond life and the only person I knew who had one was my great grandad who sadly passed a few years ago.

I live in a house with 3 cats, not my choice. I just wanted to know that I was doing everything I could and right to protect my fishies from the cats. One cat is old and doesn’t take much notice and the other are I would say 4 and yet one doesn’t take much notice. I only see one head over a little today. When I opened the fish flakes this morning they all seemed very interested, so I let them smell the tin of fish flakes.

I have 3 fish and they are only 2/3” big. I got 5 little plants for them to swim in and eat and oxygenate the pong a little. And then two bigger plants that come out from the water, same idea again. I just picked up some plants for the surface of the pond as it’s hot, to offer shade and a hiding place.

Since having the fish I have put a net over the pond in hopes that will also help protect the fish from all. The pond is in a fenced off part of a garden bed and the pond was in way before I got any fish and the cats never seemed to care much or, touch wood, got in it.

The pond has got a solar powered water fountain and again the cats never cared.

Just hoping that I could chat to pond like fanatics and ensure that the fish will be okay. I have attached a couple of pictures so you can understand my situation better. Any help would be terrific!

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_8796.jpeg
    IMG_8796.jpeg
    415.4 KB · Views: 34
  • IMG_8705.jpeg
    IMG_8705.jpeg
    414.3 KB · Views: 35
  • IMG_8707.jpeg
    IMG_8707.jpeg
    428 KB · Views: 35
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
No cats here so I can't speak to that, but kudo's for the net. It will likely keep the kitties out and should also help with leaf litter.