clear in the AM cloudy in the PM

Reaction score
My new pond (8 days old) is pretty clear in the morning, but by the afternoon I can barely see the bottom. The pond is 3 ft deep. Any ideas on what would be causing this?
Thanks

Reaction score
hello there this may not be your problem but when we go fishing in the early morning at a lake the water always seems clearer by mid afternoon when the sun is overhead the glare reflects every little particle in the water so we use polarized lenz glasses to see I'm new to yard ponds though so i'm sure someone that really knows will help out

Reaction score
-My pond kinda does the same thing, but i kinda just chalked it up to the fish being active and stirring things up during the day.

DrDave

Innovator
Reaction score
As your pond heats up, the algae that lays on the bottom floats to the top. I usually try to use a skimmer net to remove excess from mine about mid afternoon. That may be causing your dilema. Oldhead has part of the problem solved, the fish stir it up while it is rising.

Reaction score
Update:
My pond kept getting worse and looked like rootbeer 24/7. I installed a UV light and 3 days later I have crystal clear water. Boy it sure is nice to be able to see the brilliant colors on my koi.

Reaction score
koikeepr said:
though some poo-poo the use of a UV, I highly recommend 'em. There is never a cloudy day when the UV is shining. LOL!

I'm with you, I will never have another pond without a UV. My pond is as clear as my swimming pool.

oldmarine

Married 32 years
Reaction score
I'm with the last two postings. The water in my pond has stayed quite clear for the last four months since I installed the UV clearifier from Lowes.

I installed the inline UV clearifier between the skimmer/pre-filter, and the boi-filter that flows to my waterfall.

DrDave

Innovator
Reaction score
So the debate continues...