Does this setup have any faults (major or minor)?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello everyone!

So I'm a complete newbie, and I'm still reading up on ponds... But I've dug out a 4600 gallon pond for my ducks, and would really appreciate any advice and any answers to my questions before I install the liner and the works...

1) Can someone tell me why this pump/filter/aeration all-in-one setup I drew wouldn't work, or if it would, why I don't see it in other ponds?
2) And if there is any major or minor problem that screams out at you, please, please, please let me know!

Thanks!
upload_2015-5-14_15-12-51.png

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
Welcome Amy Yang to our friendly forum. I don't have any experience with keeping ducks, as I have koi. I note you mention ducks are messy, which I've heard. Will this set up be difficult for you to clean? Again, welcome.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Welcome Amy Yang to our friendly forum. I don't have any experience with keeping ducks, as I have koi. I note you mention ducks are messy, which I've heard. Will this set up be difficult for you to clean? Again, welcome.

Thank you - glad to be here! As for your question, I'll probably have to drain and refill the pond every 2 months or so from spring-fall, and that would be when I clean out the filter as well... I really have no idea how often I'd have to do so, since this would be my first pond.

But as for the cleaning process, I think I would:
1) turn off the pump
2) drain the pond (which I think won't be difficult with the drain pipe I install)
3) remove the pump from the cylinder
4) let the water drain out of the cylinder
5) dump out the contents of the cylinder and wash them

Does this sound dumb?

I use well water. I'm also planning/hoping to keep fish, which is why I've dug the pond much deeper than it has to be...

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Welcome Amy.