Energy Efficient Possibility ?

Reaction score
Was not sure where to post this, but since I am a newbie here goes.
Many of the knowledgeable members suggested that I put in the largest pond that I am able. (first pond)
I'm here to ask if its possible to have a large pond, and have it be energy efficient.
The reason this is important to me is that I am on a fixed income. Also, the utility company here is very proud of their electric and charge accordingly. I'm on a well, so no water bill.
The pond location will be in a full sun location. I'd like to stock with fish and plants.
So ...what are the possibilities?
Tony...

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
Tony nowadays you can buy energy effcient pumps UV-C which is all you need apart from your filter of course

Dave

Reaction score
What sort of budget are we talking Tony? The initial expense of installing a pond can be costly. A big liner is not cheap. Nor is a good pump and filter. However, there are ways to do it cheaper. You can find used liners that may be in good condition or you can use something like roofing tarp or a used billboard sign. Some people claim to have great success with them. What kind of fish and how many are you hoping for? The smaller the fish, the smaller the pump and the less filtration you will need. An aerator is actually the best way to circulate water in regards to cost, however, that wont run any water through a filter for you.

Reaction score
Thank you for checking in gentlemen.
I've been away from fish keeping for some time now, so I'm not aware of the new energy efficient pumps. Is this a pet/aquarium store item or something I can obtain from my local Lowes?
I'm not so much worried about the initial outlay for a pond. Think I can dig a big enough hole for a 1000 gallon + pond. And put in whatever it needs without breaking the bank. More concerned with the month to month utility bill.
Fish? Probably goldfish or some other attractive variety.

taherrmann4

Tmann