Fish died

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all,

I am a new fish caretaker and have been busy getting my basement overwintering tank set up ready over the weekend.
I was planning to transfer my fish to the new digs today. Unfortunately when I went out I found all but 2 of my baby shubunkin dead and 1 of my adults struggling at the bottom of the pond. My other adult seems fine. The 2 surviving juveniles also seem fine.
Could an overnight cold snap have killed off all of the juveniles and one adult but not the rest? Could it have been low oxygen? It seems so random!
Any insight into what could have happened would be helpful.
I’m a total newbie, but I’m educating myself as I go and am hoping the survivors will overwinter well in the luxury basement condo.

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome. So sorry this has happened to you.

There is probably more going on. Can you tell us more information about your pond — how big is it, what kind of filter set-up do you have?

Also, where do you live?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thank you for your questions.

My test strips measured all in the safe range, but I don't have oxygen tests. I will certainly order them now!

I have a Pondmaster PMK190, but it was off for about 48 hours before the deaths. I am feeling pretty guilty about that, I was doing some rearanging of electrical cords to get the basement tank ready and thought they would be OK for a bit... Will low oxgen kill off most fish but not all? How did my 2 survivors make it?

My pond is about 75 gallons, only about 20 inches deep, and I am in upstate NY. There were 2 adults and about 10 juviniles in the pond.

Thanks again

Jhn

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States