Frustrating Leak (??) Issue

Reaction score
Hi - I am new to this form as a poster, but have read many posts and learned a lot here....

I live in New Jersey and built a 14' diameter 2 1/2 foot deep lined pond about 2 years ago. It has been very
successful - new generations of goldfish, great water lily growth - and a family of frogs has made it home.
About a month ago we began to notice the water level being low - by about 3-4 inches - and this was not
accounted for by evaporation.

We do have black bears and a lot of deer in the area. I have not been able to find a leak or tear in the liner,
but the ODD thing is - the pond can be refilled - and sits with NO leakage for 24 hours and then suddenly
it is down by 4-5 inches. Sometimes this happens overnight. Sometimes during the day.

Could a bear or two - or a group of deer drink enough to lower water levels that much? We have never
seen them at the pond - but both use the area as a migration path and come through daily.

Thanks for your advice!

Reaction score
wish I could help but my pond does the exact same thing theres times when I don't have to put the hose in it for like a week then other times when I have to add water every day cant figure it out either

Reaction score
No, no waterfall or stream... I do have a solar powered aerator - of course only running when sunny.

I have wondered if the muck on the liner seals a leak, but that seems counter intuitive - muck would be stirred up when refilling.

Reaction score