Great to be here!

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,
I have been lurking for a while, trying to read and learn a bit before jumping in and figure it's about time to ask a few questions ( well actually it's quite a few ), I am in the process of constructing an approximately 7000 gallon pond with a waterfall and a bog filter. What makes this project interesting is the entire pond is being carved out of solid shale ( interesting being a euphemism for huge pain in the backside )
Although I know little about pond building I do have a bit of related knowledge as I am a landscape designer who has worked with water feature builders on a few pond projects in the past, in addition I have extensive tropical fish knowledge, specifically African Cichlids, in fact I am the owner and administrator of an on line Cichlid forum.
After reading quite a bit of on line information I am having concerns regarding the following items:
I would like a bottom drain but with the shale and the fact that I did not provide for one when I had the excavator with the rock hammer here it looks like it is not going to be feasible to have one.
I was planning on 2 submersible pumps in the skimmer, in fact I have already purchased them but I think it may be a mistake not to use an external pump, but doing so will introduce new problems that will need to be resolved.
Gravel bottom and rock sides or not? I want this pond to look VERY natural but I don't want a maintenance nightmare.
Well I have much more to discuss but I think this is enough for an introduction post, I will leave you with a few photos, and again it's great to be here.
Anthony

Attachments

• IMG_5185.jpg
    IMG_5185.jpg
    99.9 KB · Views: 192
  • IMG_5190.jpg
    IMG_5190.jpg
    127 KB · Views: 221
  • IMG_5197.jpg
    IMG_5197.jpg
    133.1 KB · Views: 229
  • IMG_5232.jpg
    IMG_5232.jpg
    133.4 KB · Views: 206
  • IMG_5235.jpg
    IMG_5235.jpg
    132.3 KB · Views: 196
  • IMG_5520.JPG
    IMG_5520.JPG
    130.7 KB · Views: 213