Hello, adopting a pond in England

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm totally new to ponds, I never had one until I inherited one when we moved house 18 months ago. I'm very keen to have it fully operational and intend to keep some fish and grow some plants in it.
On moving into the house...
The pump/filter appeared to be working fine, the water was very clear but there were no fish or plants.
Last spring (2015) the water turned green after frogs had been mating in there
I found the UV bulb in the filter box wasn't working due to the crystal tube being broken. I bought a more powerful pump and new filter box - water went crystal clear so I put in 4 goldfish. All still in there!!
Now the water was clear, I noticed thick sludge all over bottom of pond (no idea how long it had been there) so i borrowed a pond vac and cleaned the whole bottom. I also added a couple of plants (not sure what) and a lily
This spring (2016) I have had 100's of frogs mating in there, producing loads of frogspawn - back to murky water and long hair algae all over
Pond now steadily becoming clearer again. I'm not sure if my pump/filter are adequate for the size of pond, I need advice on how to keep the water free of hair algae and what the best thing is to do with frogs when the mating season comes round again. Any help with plants is also welcome

Many Thanks

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Welcome You can pull the hair algae out and I have the same problem with frogs but this year for some strange reason they are not coming around as much .I guess they are staying in the stream across the road .:)Been really wet here lately .I have mini cattails and they are great .It is the only plant i can keep in my pond because koi destroy plants

Attachments

• 100_7136.JPG
    100_7136.JPG
    110.8 KB · Views: 208
  • 100_7134.JPG
    100_7134.JPG
    198.7 KB · Views: 241
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom