Help ! Several Koi have died in the last few days

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi everyone

I have a 3000 gallon spring fed pond with about 50 fish from 3" to 12". The pond is about 3 years old and recently I started loosing about 2-3 fish a day over the last 4 days. the average size of the koi lost were 6-8". I'm very upset because none of the fish had any signs of stress , ulcers or any visible illness. I just tested my water and the readings were:
GH-120
KH-4
PH-7
NO2-0
NO3-20
AMMONIA- .25
PHOSPHATE.25

I'm in New jersey and we have had rain for the last 3 days and I added some water Hyacinths last week.

Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I don't want to lose any more fish if possible.

Thank you all in advance.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
I am not an expert, but have a koi pond and read regularly. Your KH is very low, which can lead to your PH dropping....rain could be a factor. I don't feel confident giving you direct advice, but I believe adding baking soda is needed. There are excellent article on this subject and also koi forums.

If indeed your numbers are accurate, you'll need to take action. Hope this helps a little. Keep us posted.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi Tula

thank you for your feedback. I did go back and check my numbers and indeed the KH reading was wrong its actually 40 and not 4. I must have forgot the zero. I did add baking soda to increase the ph and kh level. I hope that it is just a water level imbalance from all the rain and runoff.

Thanks again

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
hi jmt359. I'm so sorry about your fish. I'm wondering about low O2. Do you have much in the way of water movement? Also if you are finding dead fish in the morning then that is usually a sign of low dissolved oxygen because it always drops at night. I would consider adding some pumps and moving more water around and see if that helps.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a