I messed up - trying to determine when pond will be safe again

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello,

I have a 2500+ gallon large backyard pond with pool size pumps and filters. I have been slowly adding new Koi over the last year since moving into house and they have done well. I only bought from those that sell Koi locally for a living.

A few weeks ago, A neighbor wanted to empty his pond and had some 18" + long KOI. His pond was not that clear and extremely frothy with foam on the surface. I took them and put into my pond (without isolating or treating them). They all died within a week and then all my own fish started dying off 1-3 a day. I assume the new fish had some type of disease (maybe parasites). All the fish that died looked normal when they died (i am no expert).

I am down to 5 fish and am trying to determine when is it safe to introduce more fish? Lesson learned on introducing new fish to the pond.

I did treat the pond once with PH powder (purple stuff). A week later i added Pro Form C 2 days in a row after draining part of the water first. Pro form says to do 3 days in a row. I Just did a water test today- High PH, No Nitrates, No Ammonia, a little Phosphate.

mrsclem

mrsclem
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Quarantine is the only safe way to add new fish. You need to set up a seperate tank and isolate the new fish for at least 4-6 weeks. I'm hoping someone will start a thread as to guidelines for a good setup and how to run it.
How many koi did you have and how many did you add?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
If I were you, I'd not add any new fish.....I'd concentrate on the 5 remaining koi and stabilizing the pond water conditions.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Welcome @kgliner ! Glad to see you here, even if it is at a time of pond trouble - not that unusual actually!