Marginal plant questions

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada
morning all, my waterfall/bog rebuild is finally done for this year. I still have some liner to hide but other than that I’ve finally beaten the leak I had in the bog. (It still has a small leak but I’ve got the pump for the bog on a timer it turns on for a couple hours on the morning and then turns on for an hour mid day and another hour around supper and one more between 10 and 11 pm . That strategy seems to have kept the leak to a level that isn’t even noticeable. I haven’t had to add water in 3 days now. (Used to have to add every day just to keep the skimmer from going dry.) so I’m very happy! 😃
I’ve also added all the plants I can afford for this year. I got all perennials but I’m not very good with Plante so also tried to get easy ones. I have a few questions I forgot to ask the lady at the nursery though. Like with my pickerel rush. I bought it to use along the one edge on the planting shelf. I live in Ontario, Canada. In hardiness zone 5. My three questions about them are
1. Pickerel rush Planting depth. I have them so the pots are just below the water surface, I read somewhere though that the leaves should be floating on the surface, should I be sinking the pots to the bottom so only the leaves are on the surface?

2. Will they do well if I transfer them to baskets with clay Kitty litter instead of soil?

3. How should they be overwintered

I also have a variegated sweet flag.
With the same three questions.

Here is a picture. It’s not the subject of days but I still think it looks nice in the shade too.

Attachments

• IMG_8126.jpeg
    IMG_8126.jpeg
    402 KB · Views: 25
Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States