Mechanical Filtration DYI STYLE

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a/b
Country
United States
Let me preface this by saying I'm not a pond expert.
This filtration set up has kept my pond clear----not algae free, thankfully because the algae contributes to the gold fishes meal.
The heart of the system is a 2600 gal/hr Pond Master water fall pump that sits in a skimmer box
My initial set up used blue furnace filter and quilt batting as a pre filter . I was cleaning these weekly in a bucket of pond water. This year I switched out the blue furnace filter for Matala pads. I pull the Matala pads and bang out the MUCK monthly. Still swap out quilt batting weekly.
image.jpeg
Spring thru fall I have an external bottom drain that is teed off in the sump. One connection goes to the pump the other pulls water into the sump thru the pads. In the Winter I disconnect the bottom drain and run the pump pulling water thru the sump only.

The pump pushes the water to a100 gallon Rubbermade tank. Inside the tank is a 1 x 2 ft egg grate light diffuser shelf with yellow flag iris connected . First pic July 2014 next pic this week. First two years I was able to pull this out but now the roots have become massive and I can't budge it. This " veggie filter" set up was written by Jamie Boyer in Pond Trader Mag. I added water hyacinth after seeing a you tube video. But not much room any more for the hyacinth .
image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg This is top view of shelf set up

There are three outlets allowing the water to flow down a 2 tiered stream to the approx 1300 gal pond.
Prior to entering the outlets the water is mechanically filter by one black Matala pad and quilt batting
image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg
Traveling down the 2 streams the water flows thru a heard of marginal plant roots trapping more muck
image.jpeg