Minimum / Maximum Head

Reaction score
Hi

I'm a newbie here and also a newbie to pond life so please bear with me if I sound a bit stupid.

I have purchased a Ecoclear 12000 (Hozelock)

I have set it up but i'm confused with this paragrah of the manual which is part of the filter manual.

it reads

Important! The pump supplying this filter should have a minimum head of 3M (10FT 4psi 0.3 bar and a maximum head not exceeding 6M 20ft 0.6 bar)

Could someone explain this to me please, does it mean that I have to have a minimum of 3Meters of hose between the pump in the water and the external filter?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Wayne

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
welkom4.gif
Wayne

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome wmiles, post where you are from and they like you to post in introductions first, but saying that.............
The head is the pressure the pump can supply at x number of feet x size of piping, the other x in figuring head it how high, vertical, your lines run. They are saying your pump must satisfy the amount of flow needed for the filter, with a head of x

You need a minimum pressure to run the filter, but not so much you blast through it, the maximum head. There is no need for 3 meters of hose between the pump and filter.

oldmarine

Married 32 years
Reaction score
wmiles said:
Hi

I'm a newbie here and also a newbie to pond life so please bear with me if I sound a bit stupid.

I have purchased a Ecoclear 12000 (Hozelock)

I have set it up but i'm confused with this paragrah of the manual which is part of the filter manual.

it reads

Important! The pump supplying this filter should have a minimum head of 3M (10FT 4psi 0.3 bar and a maximum head not exceeding 6M 20ft 0.6 bar)