Natural swimming pond in Thailand

xye

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
11b
Country
Thailand
Hi all,

I'm new to this forum, but I've begun to build a home on a ~1.5 acre (0.6 hectare) plot of land on the outskirts of Bangkok, Thailand. I have very little experience in building ponds, but a ridiculous amount of engineering resources around to rely on. So...

My wife and I hired a team of local construction workers and are directing them ourselves. Along the way, we are designing and building our own water circulation systems based on the locally ubiquitous "long tail boat" propellers and other equipment.

There are all kinds of little questions that come up along the way from things like "what is the minimum water turnover rate before bad things start to happen?" to "are there any rules of thumb for drilling the holes in the water pipe that goes under the regeneration zone?"

Is this a good place to post such questions? If not, does anyone have any suggestions of forums better suited to it?

If anyone is interested, here is my blog about the pond building:
http://mibproj.blogspot.com/search/label/Pond

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Good luck! Although swim ponds have been constructed for years in Europe and S.E. Asia, I have seen NO documented scientific proof that they are as safe as conventional swimming pools. And no one that constructs these professionally can or will present such proof. Entirely too many water borne pathogens (Bacterial, Viral and Parasitic) exist to gamble with the health, and maybe life, of a loved one or anyone else, for that matter.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Welcome to the forums!
I was in Bangkok in '66 and went to Lampang from there for 14 months. Thailand is a beautiful country, and I found the people to be very genteel. Sawadee!