Need help

Reaction score
This is my first post I have been ponding for around 15 years
this is my first year that I have had this problem string algae I live in southern Ontario Canada zone six pond is approx 12 x 15 x 3 ft. deep not sure on the gallons I run 4 aquascape pumps each 2000 gal so I can have full water coverage over my water fall. have aquascape pressure filter as well as 24 watt uv have done water changes pulled, tugged,
not willing to add chemcial I have around 25 shubunkins most are around 6 "
have not feed so far this year pond is 60% covered with plant material I have been thinking that this is due to the amount of rain that we have had this spring. One thing that has seemed to work a little is adding beer I just added six cans yesterday and algae is floating
on top just finshed scooping all the algae out and did another water change appox 10%

HTH

Howard
Reaction score
When there are nutrients nature will see to it that they are put to use. If no other plants exist suspended algae will grow. Once string algae takes hold it will starve the suspended algae. If you get enough higher plant forms with roots in the water they will starve the string algae.

Potted plants do not help because they are getting their nutrients from the pot. So the 60% plant coverage is good but will not reduce the nitrates if the plants are all or mostly all potted plants.

10% water changes do little good to reduce nitrate levels. I did the math in a post a few weeks ago and it takes more then 10 10% changes to reduce it to 1/4 the starting level. That does not take into account the nitrates entering the system and the possibility of nitrates in the change water.

Killing the algae with beer or any chemical is counter productive. You are treating the symptom rather then the cause.