New here.

Reaction score
Hello,

I've stumbled around the internet unable to find what I was looking for and finally found this site.
I'm really happy to have found this place, it's full of great information and helpful and friendly people.

I'm a total novice (so pardon my ignorance) but I'm planning a garden pond, probably few if any koi. I like the idea of water plants, the sound of moving water, and maybe some orange colored fishies swimming around.

However, most of the other sites cater exclusively to large koikeepers, and consequently, have filter systems that would make a small municipalities wastewater treatment system envious. :razz:

I'm planning on an 8X10 or 8X12 ft pond , 2-3' deep, maybe 1' of that above ground framed with wood. Not a heavy fish load.

Not sure what type of filter to use, but would like to avoid UV's and the expensive store bought stuff.

I'm very handy so I was thinking one of Dr Dave's 55 gallon drums or maybe just a veggie filter. Would i need both? Are UV's a necessity in my climate (sunny FL) ? How about a skimmer?

Anyway, I don't wanna go on too long. Thanks in advance for a great site and for any feedback.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
welcomeautumn2.gif
archimedes
With your pond going to be as big as it is and w/ lots of plants and maybe just a few pretty goldfish I think you could get by w/ a pretty simple setup. I'd go w/ the 3ft deep so fish can stay cooler down below in Summers. I think the drum set up would work well. Don't know about uv's as I don't have one. Don't have a skimmer either. Just use a net to scoop. You'll get plenty of advice to choose from here.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States