New pond build

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello all,

I am almost complete with my latest build. My background is almost 10yrs of pond keeping. I was a member on here years ago during my first two builds. I have since forgotten my login info and had to create a new account. Last year rodents ate into my liner while I was on a two week trip. Unfortunately they continued to eat the liner down to access the water until they created holes low enough the pump ran dry and the system crashed. This happened in the middle of the summer. I lost my three eight year old koi but their one offspring made it. I did not lose a single goldfish. I was so upset with the loss I almost called the quits for pond keeping. My wife talked me into building another. My previous pond was a natural in ground design. It looked great but did not go with our yard. This time we decided on a formal all above ground build using both wood and metal to match a planter box we built.

The pond is on top of a preexisting 10.5’ X 10.5’ X 4” deep cement slab that used to have a shed sitting on it. The ponds total dimensions are, L X W X H, 10.5’ X 10.5’ X 30” filling to just shy of 2100 gallons. The pond is stocked with far too many goldfish and one Koi. If anyone lives in the Sacramento area and would like some goldfish please let me know. The pond utilizes a Dreampond in pond 3” bottom drain connected to a 2” bulkhead. The filtration is handled by a Sequence 750 4200 connected to a TSE Koi ABF 2. The water makes its way back into the pond through two total Pond 14” lite spillways. There is also an Oase AquaSkim 40 in pond skimmer teed into the drain line. Currently the pump does not pull enough water for the skimmer to function properly so I will tee in an external little giant 4000gph into the drain line and run it a few hours a day. The bottom drain has a diffuser incorporated into the top which is fed by a 560gph air pump.