New pond help

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello, I am new to freshwater ponds but have kept reef tanks for many years

Long story short I dug out and built up a CMU pond that measures 6x10x4 with a bottom drain. It is on a optima 2000 bio mechanical with a 40 watt uv in line pumping at 6100 gal/hr. Most of the water returns through two water falls that are about 18” above the water line. It is filled with San Diego municipal tap water which I believe comes from the Sweetwater water district. After filling, I treated the water with ultimate water conditioner by pond solutions and gel bacterial inoculate. I then waited a week and tested. The permitted are all ideal with GH being 180. I asked around and nobody seemed to think the hard water was an issue. I added three water Lillies and they all have opened and closed everyday with new leaves coming to the surface after three or four days.

I then proceeded to go to the store with the intention of buying some tester fish to see how the fish did. After talking to the main pond guy and telling him the parameters I proceeded to just go for it and bought a few 5” koi. They proceeded to die after an hour and I am perplexed to what might have gone wrong. Any help so I don’t make the same mistake going forward would be appreciated.

Attachments

• 3E960E12-1C36-4F89-8614-24C8F26A7927.jpeg
    3E960E12-1C36-4F89-8614-24C8F26A7927.jpeg
    332.7 KB · Views: 117
  • 1D33F15C-D0C0-40ED-8A02-4FC2A67085CF.jpeg
    1D33F15C-D0C0-40ED-8A02-4FC2A67085CF.jpeg
    219.3 KB · Views: 126
  • 5F4DB87F-05EB-4136-AE8F-9696649D1B42.jpeg
    5F4DB87F-05EB-4136-AE8F-9696649D1B42.jpeg
    277.5 KB · Views: 131
  • B6FCF47C-06E5-42A5-ABB7-E8A36D35BF9D.jpeg
    B6FCF47C-06E5-42A5-ABB7-E8A36D35BF9D.jpeg
    344.6 KB · Views: 115
  • B1E4A09A-117B-4851-B51C-4A293221DBEB.jpeg
    B1E4A09A-117B-4851-B51C-4A293221DBEB.jpeg
    187.5 KB · Views: 116
  • 0487BF4F-4C99-4843-A5C2-610853683A1D.jpeg
    0487BF4F-4C99-4843-A5C2-610853683A1D.jpeg