New Pond planning. Need help to choose

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi Everybody.
I'm completely new to ponds, fish etc. Planning to have a contractor to build my first pond and getting mixed advise. Pond would be about 8 x 11, liner. Planning to have few mixed fish - goldfish and may be few Koi. That's were three contractors divert - filtration.
  1. Contractor 1 offers to build traditional setup with 4' stream, waterfall, skimmer box from the kit. About 2.5 feet deep. The least expensive.
  2. Contractor 2 wants to build pond with bog filter placed inside the pond. Use Vault for bog, 4 Large Aquablox. Area with bog about 2' under water and the rest of the pond 3' deep. Also suggests Ionizer. No skimmer Said plants can placed anywhere in the pond not necessarily in the bog. Form my reading on the bog filters I thought it's always a separate area with few inches of water and filled with plants.
  3. Last contractor want to build separate bog 4 x 6 with 10' stream to the pond. Use 6 large Aquablox and still leave the skimmer. The most expensive option.
I'm leaning to option 2 , but want to check if "in pond" bog that deep in the pond may not be as effective and defeats the purpose. Bog option promises less maintenance and cleanup, clearer water. I attached the location where I plan the pond. Starting on top under Japanese maple and going slightly under bridge. Any feedback, ideas are welcome.

Attachments

• IMG_0817.JPG
    IMG_0817.JPG
    108.6 KB · Views: 380
  • IMG_0813.JPG
    IMG_0813.JPG
    135.1 KB · Views: 387
Reaction score
moldovan said:
Bog option promises less maintenance and cleanup, clearer water. I attached the location where I plan the pond. Starting on top under Japanese maple and going slightly under bridge. Any feedback, ideas are welcome.
This is a tough one. Basically, and I mean basically because there's not enough detail to know much, I would see all 3 choices as basically the same.