Planning for Bog Clean Out -- Maybe?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6B
I've been operating my 12'x6'x3' pond with only a 6'x2' bog for filtering for 4 years now. First year took a little while to clear up, but years 2 and 3 the pond remained crystal clear all season with only a minimum amount of algae removal in the spring. Last year, however, the water never cleared up. Additionally, I couldn't get my water hyacinths and water lettuces to live when in year's past I had been removing them by the bucket load. I have never done anything in the way of cleaning out the bog which is a PVC pipe manifold system covered by pea gravel and fully stocked with a variety of plants. Current fish load in the pond is 12-15 shubunkins. Should I plan on a full dismantling and cleaning of the bog this Spring? If so, any tips on what to do, especially in terms of restoring the plants. Thanks,

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
2a
Country
Canada
What's the overall situation of your pond?
Do you have strong water flow in the main pond? Is there detritus accumulating at the bottom of the main pond?
Is there a plant or plants that are taking over the bog? Can you inspect the plant root growth to check and see if the roots are plugging up the manifold?

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I can't get water lettuce or hyacinths to grow. My "bog" filter keeps the water to clean. I quit trying to grow them.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6A
Country
United States
I can't get water lettuce or hyacinths to grow. My "bog" filter keeps the water to clean. I quit trying to grow them.

Really? Cause my hyacinths went crazy in August. They were slow in spring. Water Lettuce I will officially give up on. I think my pond was too shady for them.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States