pond filter

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by GLC, Apr 28, 2012.

  1. GLC

    GLC

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cleveland
    hi i am new 2 the forum and i was wondering if anybody could give me sum information on my pond filter i think its a nitritech 5000
    it has 3 large bays vortex . I am trying 2 find out exactly what media i am surposed 2 have in it.
    thanks in advance
     
    GLC, Apr 28, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. GLC

    Waterbug

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,195
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    I don't know this exact filter but given the term vortex and "large bays" I'd assume no media is to be used. A vortex is suppose remove heavy solids by water current. Media would stop that. Vortex filters were all the rage 10-15 years ago but not used much any more.

    I may have heard of brushes being used in some vortex filters...but then these weren't really vortexes at all.

    If you were looking to convert it a submerged media filter you could use any media you liked.
     
    Waterbug, Apr 28, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. GLC

    GLC

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cleveland
    how can i upload a picture 2 helpp with any info and thanks for the reply
     
    GLC, Apr 28, 2012
    #3
  4. GLC

    GLC

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cleveland
    GLC, Apr 28, 2012
    #4
  5. GLC

    j.w I Love my Goldies

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    24,886
    Likes Received:
    14,744
    Location:
    Arlington, Washington
    j.w, Apr 29, 2012
    #5
  6. GLC

    GLC

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cleveland
    thanks i have actually been looking at those clover leaf filters 2 day but i think thr all different as the first chamber on mine is like a whirl pool and then the second 1 always is the main 1 that gets the dirtiest and then the last chamber is whr the water starts 2 go back in 2 the pond but they all have a hole at the bottom of each chamber so nothing 2 small or loose can go in it or it will block the holes i purchased the filter with no media but at this moment i just have japmatting in the last 2 and nothing in the first 1 im trying 2 find out exactly what is surposed 2 be in each chamber 2 see if it helps at all
     
    GLC, Apr 29, 2012
    #6
  7. GLC

    GLC

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cleveland
    do any 1 have this exact filter ? and no exactly what is ment 2 be in ( media )
     
    GLC, May 8, 2012
    #7
  8. GLC

    GLC

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cleveland
    also looking for the official lid for my filter if any 1 selling it
     
    GLC, Jun 12, 2012
    #8
  9. GLC

    fishrich Rich

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    leicester UK
    Hi, I have this filter, which i have had now for 4 years installed. Nitritech 5000 three vortex. At the moment it is set up with brushes in the first chamber, the second one has a 4 inch thick original course foam circle which sits on that little ledge you see in the chamber, and the last chamber has plastic egg crate grid sitting on the ledge with a couple of media bags full of Alpha rock up to the water line. All the vortex's are clear as the media is held above them. The holes at the bottom have to be set up with outlet pipes and taps to drain off the waist. I do have a pre screen filter.
    Im looking to change it slightly by removing the brushes and fitting the foam block from ch2 to ch one and them getting another foam mat or mats to go into 2.
    I hope this is of help to you. Anythig more just ask.
     
    fishrich, Jun 30, 2012
    #9
    GLC likes this.
  10. GLC

    buckry

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Indiana
    Man, is that filter as big as it looks? That's a monster.
     
    buckry, Jun 30, 2012
    #10
    GLC likes this.
  11. GLC

    fishrich Rich

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    leicester UK
    They are big, and when you wash them out you loose around 100 liters of water per chamber i would gess, may be more, i cannot remember how much they hold!! and i drain the waist out of mine quite regular
     
    fishrich, Jun 30, 2012
    #11
  12. GLC

    GLC

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cleveland
    thanks for the info Rich i
    appreciate

    it, do you no if the company is still running or do you no where i could purchase a lid from ? and do you have the manual (any papers that cum with it for phone numbers and info and that )for it ,if you bought it brand new ,would also like 2 find out exactly how many liters it actually holds
     
    GLC, Sep 10, 2012
    #12
  13. GLC

    GLC

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cleveland
    Rich if you have the same filter you must have a big and deep pond like my self which is obviously why you have chose this filter 2 do the job, i was just wondering are you using a air pump ? if so how many liters should it be capable of doing .As i am currently looking 2 buy a air pump for my pond and when i look on ebay they say how many literes it is cable of doing but i have no idea how many literes my pond holds and the filter any help would be great thanks
     
    GLC, Sep 10, 2012
    #13
  14. GLC

    Terry E

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rockford Il
    im just a newbie but i installed a bio skippy filter and it has cleaned my pond better than i expected. and its virtually no maintenance. my water plants flurished and pretty much over run but i keep thinning them out and best of all , my fish are happy.
     
    Terry E, Sep 18, 2012
    #14
  15. GLC

    connor

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    uk plymouth
    Hello i have a 5000 and here we have found the best way to set this filter up is leave the first chamber empty no media, the second put k1 media with a air ring in the bottom and the last one k1 static no air ring,they dont make these filters here any more was told the mold was sold to a company in the us.
     
    connor, Sep 18, 2012
    #15
  16. GLC

    fishrich Rich

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    leicester UK
    Hi GLC, dont have any info for the filter. I dont use a air pump with the filter, have never sufferd from low oxygen levels. Have one just in case. I pre sieve before the filter which helps. adding oxygen and removing large particles. I dont realy think the filter is that great, vortexes dont alway work well and need the corret flow rate. As this filter is 3 large vortexes theres not alot of space for media. The brushes did help in stopping some the particles just going strait through the first chamber into the second. The main bulk of fittering must be done in the first and second chamber to stop any bio media in the last clogging up. To wash out a chamber you do have to empty that chamber fully to clean off the bottom, thats alot of water- but i suppose that helps with water changes. I recon there is 150lt per chamber, thats without going out to measure it.
    Ta Rich
     
    fishrich, Sep 18, 2012
    #16
  17. GLC

    GLC

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cleveland
    thanks for the info :D
     
    GLC, Sep 22, 2012
    #17
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.