Pond goldfish turning black

PKS

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I’m fairly new to pond care having inherited a ~11,000 litre pond early last year. We currently have 8 adult goldfish and around 30 of their offspring from last year. Recently two of our adult goldfish have started to turn black around the edges of the fins, tail and cheeks, and one has now started getting black scales on its back as well. I’ve read this can be due to ammonia burn but my parameters seem good on liquid testing:
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Phosphate 0
KH 6
GH 7
pH 7.5-8 (somewhere in between by the colour)

Any ideas what this could be? The second fish is only black on the tail and edge of dorsal fin, but that’s how the first one started too so I’m worried it might be a global problem rather than a single sick fish.
Attached photo of ‘Goldie’ (I let my kids name them!) who was completely red last autumn.

Attachments

• 1C3E0E9D-9BD7-4ECA-AFC9-F706E75434CC.jpeg
    1C3E0E9D-9BD7-4ECA-AFC9-F706E75434CC.jpeg
    126.9 KB · Views: 40
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10a
Country
United States
That IS strange PKS...Hopefully someone on this site will be able to help to identify the cause of this..I am sorry that I have no idea...If they were young I might suggest that it could be normal color change but I am not sure since they are adults.

mrsclem

mrsclem
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Looks like a normal color change. Goldfish and koi frequently change colors. I had a white one as well as a bronze one that are both now orange and a couple are getting the black on fins and tail. You water looks good so just keep an eye on them.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
10a/sunset zone 23
Country
United States