Pond liner

Reaction score
Good Evening Everyone,
I am a newbie and unfortunately I will need to re-dig and expand my relatively new pond in the coming weeks (I understand now that this a common mistake :). Can you guys make any liner recommendations? It seems as though EPDM is the preferred liner, this seems quite expensive though. Is there an inexpensive place to order it? I need 20ft by 20ft piece which seems to be around the $250 mark. Just wanted to check on here to see if anyone had any further advice before ordering. Thanks!

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Have you checked rubber roofing ,same stuff .Some use billboard sign liners also .My neighbor has the pond liner from lowes for 7 years now and no problems with it yet .She got it on an end of year sale .It is pvc but for the price she can't complain it was a 20x30 liner for 91 dollars .Was 159 before it went on sale .

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
FYI, to add to Sissy's post. IF the EDPM liner/roofing material is made by firestone they are the exact same product. the only difference between the two is roofing EDPM has a fine powder that helps keep the EDPM from sticking together for roofing applications. This fine powder is best rinsed off but I have never heard of anyone having a problem that can be directly related back to this powder. I contacted firestone several years back and they told me that the powder was used for the roofing industry so that the installers could roll the roofing material out easier. Pond liner did not use this as they didn't want to add anything that might be harmful to fish. I have used both and never had a issue. Although they leave the manufacturer at about the same cost, there are more mark-ups between distributors for pond liner than roofing material, simply because roofing companies buy direct in much larger bulk than pond companies do.

Reaction score