Pond Pumps KEEP Dying!!!

Discussion in 'Garden Pond Talk' started by David Demarest, Mar 15, 2018.

  1. David Demarest

    David Demarest Amateur Enthusiast (is that a thing?)

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    image.jpg We had a koi pond dug out about ten years ago. It’s been an amazing addition to our yard, but we can’t seem to find a pump that survives more than a year or so. We’ve got about three koi (about 14-16” each), and a catfish (16-18”). The pond is a kidney shape, about 8’x9’. We live in northern New Jersey, so we get four distinct seasons. The first pump gave us 3-4 good years, but since then, their life cycles seem to get shorter and shorter. The past two have only lasted 6-8 months. The one that we have in there right now is a Tsurumi 50PN2.4S, but we’ve tried all different models. When the pond was initially built, it had a Tsurumi in it. They all tend to die during the winter or in the early spring, but we’ve had them die in the summer and fall, as well. This one sounds like the impeller is seized up, but I can’t tell. It sounds like there’s electrical current running to it, but that’s it.

    Is this something we’re doomed to repeat, over and over each year? If so, can you take a stab at what you think is causing the issue? The pond is taken care of well and is cleaned fairly regularly. During the winters, we tend to throw in a de-icer and run the waterfall throughout the season. They’ve also tripped our GFI in the past as well! I’ve attached a picture of the pond, as well as a shot of the pump compartment. As you can see, some algae is already starting to build up.

    Please help in any way you can, whether it’s advice, your experiences, or something else.
     

    Attached Files:

    David Demarest, Mar 15, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. David Demarest

    Angel

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    706
    Location:
    SNJ
    The picture of the pump intake on left level with the pond and pump on right is out take?

    how high are you pumping if that's the case. ( height and length from pump to out)head pressure can be the problem more head height the higher you need the pump rating
     
    Angel, Mar 15, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. David Demarest

    EricV

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    439
    Location:
    Chicago (W suburbs)
    I assume you are maintaining the pumps, pulling them out for cleaning every month or so? Same with the masala pad? Looks like you have the same skimmer that I do (except I have brushes).
     
    EricV, Mar 15, 2018
    #3
    Gordo33 likes this.
  4. David Demarest

    Lisak1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    6,539
    Likes Received:
    7,335
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Gee we have two pumps that have run for 6 years - one constantly, one from April through October - with no trouble. And we don't clean ours every month - in fact, we only clean them about once a year. You've got something weird going on. They aren't cheap pumps so it shouldn't be a quality issue. The fact that they are tripping the GFI is concerning - are you sure the outlet is wired properly? Could you be getting power surges that are killing the pump? Just tossing some ideas out there.
     
    Lisak1, Mar 16, 2018
    #4
    Mmathis and Gordo33 like this.
  5. David Demarest

    Gordo33

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    625
    Location:
    Willow Grove,PA
    Maybe just bad pumps . My initial pump died the beginning of the second season . It was under warranty and the manufacturer replaced it. 5 years later still running 24 / 7 year round. I do pull my pumps for maintenance based on the waterfall flow . Usually 2-3 times a year. AS Lisak1 mentioned the GFI tripping is a concern. If you are sure it's not a wiring issue at the GFI then you have a faulty pump. The brand I use is Danner or Pondmaster . They have a 3 year warranty . The customer service was great when I had the problem. Currently I have two running . With a waterfall make sure the head pressure is adequate and not forcing the pump to run near it's maximum capacity.
     
    Gordo33, Mar 16, 2018
    #5
    Mmathis likes this.
  6. David Demarest

    David Demarest Amateur Enthusiast (is that a thing?)

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Regarding intake/output, the intake is on the bottom of the pump and the output is the pipe you can see. I’m not sure what dimensions you’re asking for, but the intake and output are right next to each other on the one pump.


    How do you calculate the required head pressure?
     
    David Demarest, Mar 16, 2018
    #6
  7. David Demarest

    Gordo33

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    625
    Location:
    Willow Grove,PA
    Head pressure is determined by pipe size, length of pipes , any bends like 90 degrees creates more head pressure than a 45 degree bend and the height the pump has to push the water. Most pumps will give you the amount of flow at a given height from a minimum to maximum either on the box or with the manual . Another factor that will decrease the head pressure is a dirty filter. I don't know the exact calculations to figure it all but you can try a search on this site or on Google.
     
    Gordo33, Mar 17, 2018
    #7
  8. David Demarest

    mrsclem mrsclem

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    2,120
    Location:
    st. mary's county, md.
    Looking at the picture of the pond, I don't see an issue with head pressure. Is it possible the circuit the pump is plugged into is being overloaded?
     
    mrsclem, Mar 17, 2018
    #8
    Mmathis likes this.
  9. David Demarest

    Lisak1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    6,539
    Likes Received:
    7,335
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Such a pretty spot for a pond!
     
    Lisak1, Mar 17, 2018
    #9
    Mmathis likes this.
  10. David Demarest

    adavisus

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    754
    Location:
    carolinas
    What other appliances are kicking in on that circuit
     
    adavisus, Mar 18, 2018
    #10
    Mmathis likes this.
  11. David Demarest

    David Demarest Amateur Enthusiast (is that a thing?)

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Thank you! We love it!

    There’s nothing else on that circuit besides the pond. Our current pump (mentioned in the OP) has never tripped the breaker. I apologize, I was misinformed. Algae is starting to form, so we have to order a new pump ASAP. Does anyone have a similar size pond or use a similar pump, and can make a recommendation?
     
    David Demarest, Mar 20, 2018
    #11
  12. David Demarest

    EricV

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    439
    Location:
    Chicago (W suburbs)
    I'm using an Atlantic Tidal Wave 3 series pump (I think, whatever is latest) which I choose based on the efficiency. I think mine is a TT6000, but my pond is about twice as big as yours, so that might be overkill. They make all different sizes. I like it, but I can't say it's better than something else.
     
    EricV, Mar 21, 2018
    #12
  13. David Demarest

    Mmathis TurtleMommy

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,572
    Likes Received:
    5,411
    Location:
    NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
    Gee, my pond is around 3,000 gallons. I have a pump from Home Depot (whatever “pond” brand it is that they carry). It’s been running non-stop for 6 years. Sounds like you have an electrical issue — or just very bad luck.
     
    Mmathis, Mar 29, 2018
    #13
  14. David Demarest

    Dave 54

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6,273
    Likes Received:
    2,786
    Location:
    Plymouth
    My in-line pump has been going for a least 9 years , the only time it stops is if a piece of K1 filter medium gets in their and stops the impellor .
    I've seen it red hot because of this jamming before now,
    All we do we switch it off remove the offending piece of K1 let it cool for a few hours and it bursts back into life every time without fail when we switch it back on

    Dave 54
     
    Dave 54, Mar 29, 2018
    #14
    Mmathis likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.