Pre formed 265g pond in NJ

Reaction score
Hello I’m new to this garden pond hobby. I purchased a 265g preformed pond can’t remember the dimensions but I do know its 18" deep. I’ll be setting it up next spring. My question is I plan on having about 6 3-4" koi in it, and was wondering if that will be deep enough for the fish to survive the winter time in NJ. I’ll be adding a preformed water fall also. Should I go with a pond liner or just stay with the preformed? I really don’t want anything bigger or much deeper as I have two small children. Any advice would be helpful. Thank you, Danny

BTW great info on this web site.

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
265 gals is not near big enough for 6 koi..well maybe for a year...and 18 inches is really cutting it close on depth.exspecially with that small of a capacity..buy a liner and forget the little prefab.

oldmarine

Married 32 years
Reaction score
Welcome Danny,

I installed a 365 gallon preformed pond a year ago, and due to limited space found that I had no room for anything bigger. Beacuse of it's size I only have six Shubunkins, and one Sarrasa, (comet). I figured that my pond would not be big enough for koi so I went with the Shubunkins. They have the same bright coloring and won't crowd my pond and each other.

I believe that your pond will winter NJ just fine, but you may want to concider a submersible heater just for the winter months. Last winter I used a 150 watt submersible aquarium heater in my skimmer / pre-filter, and the water temps never dropped below freezing. Even with a foot of snow on the ground for a week.

I agree with koiguy, you need a bigger and deeper pond for koi. Preplanning your pond should start with, what are you going to put in your pond, and then do your homework from there. Koiguy knows his stuff, I would go with whatever he recomends.

Reaction score
koiguy1969,oldmarine: thank you for the quick replys.