Problem With Filter

Reaction score
We have recently been working on our pond, basically it has been left to ruin for 7 years and the pond was literally full of waste on the bottom, this has all been cleared and the water remains crystal clear, we now are trying to get the filter system working!!!

I have little knowledge of filter systems so this is where you guys come in!

As I understand it we have a 4 tank gravity fed pond filter system, the problem we have is no water appears to be going into the filter system...

Here is a video to explain more and show you what I mean!!!

[ame="[MEDIA=youtube]RPKDGDP-AuU[/MEDIA]"]

Hopefully this will explain how I understand it to work, the previous home owner said the 2 valves together do not need to be open.

We have not run the filter for no more than 10-15 secs as we were worried about damaging the filter with no water going through it or do we have to run it for longer in order to draw the water up that black pipe leading into the filter?

Your help is appreciated!

Reaction score
Kevin, could you draw us a simple (not to scale) diagram showing the location of the various components and the way the piping runs to and from each? It would be very helpful.

DrCase

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
:lol: You move real fast with the camera
The 2 valves they are grouped together looked closed they could be your filter feed lines.
Pondmaster has a good idea about a simple drawing of the plumbing lay out

Reaction score
Pondmaster said:
Kevin, could you draw us a simple (not to scale) diagram showing the location of the various components and the way the piping runs to and from each? It would be very helpful.

Good idea and I would love to, but I didn't build the pond, it was done by the previous owner of the house, it hasn't been used for about 7 years since the house was purchased.