Pump Recommendations

Reaction score
Country
Canada
First time ponder so I have no experience with any given brand of pump. I’m nearing completion of the build and it’s time to get the pump that matches my needs - ~2,300 GPH at 9’ of head.

I’d prefer to go asynchronous/mag-drive to save on hydro. I’ve done a narrow search so far and came across a couple models:

Aquascape Aquasurge 3000
Laguna Max-flo 4280

Just wondering if anybody has experience with either of these pumps or the companies that make them or other companies/models all-together?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
I have 2 Danner pumps and would recommend them; one has been going for 10 years now.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
We've only used Aquascape pumps and have been happy with them - we've got two that have been in use for 9 and 10 years respectively. Needed two new pumps this spring for two new projects and bought Aquascape.

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Good to hear the Aquascape reliability is there. I’ll check out the Danner stuff too.

TheFishGuy

( Insert something funny )
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
4b or 5a
Country
United States
Good to hear the Aquascape reliability is there. I’ll check out the Danner stuff too.
I also use aquascape, while I have only used their pumps for a couple of years, there are no problems, and with the solids handling ones, I only have to clean the intake/pump once a season!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5B
Country
United States
I've been running a laguna max-flo for about a month without issue. Pretty efficient on power which is why I chose it.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a

Abe

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4B-5A
Country
Canada
One feature that I fail to understand why is missing on 2-6K GPH pumps as standard
is remote inlet connection, which I just could not do without.
My Oase 2000 is connected to a skinner/ leaf basket down stream.
You can pull water from the pump or remote or both.