Question about a waterfall box

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello all, I’m new to both forum and having a pond. The waterfall box I have the filter going to seems to get slimy inside. Should I clean it out as it happens quite fast after cleaning, so it would be a constant endeavor
I’m really hoping it’s something beneficial, or maybe there should be some kind of media in there? Any recommendations all?

cas

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
If you have a water fall box that was meant to be a bio-falls, the purpose is to put media in it and leave it alone for the season for beneficial bacteria to grow. I use matala filters, but you can use lots of things - lava rock, regular filters, bio-balls, etc.

Biofalls filters (2).jpg

Biofalls filters (1).JPG

Reaction score
Country
United States
What if all those would you recommend to use? And there wasn’t anything that came with it or any spaces devoted to fitting anything, so I need to find a way to anchor it in there?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Welcome to the forum! You'll like it here!

A. That "slime" is called biofilm. That's good stuff! All part of your pond's natural filtration system.

B. Your waterfall box should be able to accept the Matala filters - they come in standard sizes, or you can buy them to cut size. Or you can put bioballs in a net bag to hold them together and put that in the filter. @cas 's illustration shows a biofalls with both.

Show us what your biofalls looks like and we can be more helpful!

Reaction score
Country
United States
So another dumb question then, I’ve put some filter media pads in the waterfall box before and they got gunned up quite fast and it was seemingly clogged up, is that what you want to happen?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Well, you don't WANT it to happen, but it does happen. That's why they're there! The stuff you're filtering out has to go somewhere, right?