Small Berm Building

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey guys.

I have a small, 250 gallon pond that I built myself. I’ve been having problems with it and a lot of people on this site recommended me building a berm around the edge of my pond. I tried that and it utterly failed. It failed so bad to the point where that was a month ago and I’ve just let my pond look like crap out of frustration. I’m now ready to get back at it and make my pond beautiful again.

When I tried to build the berm, all I did was just mound up some dirt I had all around the pond. The very first rain after I did that washed all of it away and just made the pond uglier than it’s ever been. So I was wondering if I could receive any tips on properly building a small berm. I’ve attached images from when I built the berm and then after the rain washed it away.

My main theory is that I probably should’ve tamped all the dirt down to compact it? I don’t know, I’m a rookie.

Any help would be appreciated, thank you. I received great help on my last post and that meant a lot to me.

B3D6EDF0-37BA-48DD-A5CF-352DA07BCD7A.jpeg

Attachments

• 3AC7A0BD-62FE-4A50-A5BB-CF9CE1120E19.jpeg
    3AC7A0BD-62FE-4A50-A5BB-CF9CE1120E19.jpeg
    385.4 KB · Views: 18

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
You mentioned that you have clay soil. You might also have a high water table. This was my problem. That and the fact that the clay soil “slumped” (and yes, I compacted it first) around the edges. Building the berm up properly so that your water level is at or slightly above ground level will/might help with “water hippos.” (every pond is different)