small pond vacuums

Reaction score
Yo, Folks!

I am a newbie on the forum, but I have been trying to set up a stable pond for the past ten years or so, with varying degrees of lack of success. What I have now is in the front yard, and measures about 4'X6', maybe 16" deep. For plants, I have a plastic tub with water lilies, cattails, and a flower my sister-in-law gave me, some sort of iris, I think. The fish are a robust family of dime store goldfish, which I have had for years.

My problem is, the yard borders on some woods, and very close to the pond is a beautiful Mimosa that smells delightful at this time of year, but which generates much detritus, a great deal of which ends up in my little fishpool.

Obviously, the crud must be removed from the water. About two years ago, I bought one of those PVC siphon jobbies which connect to the garden hose. Its performance was less than stellar. I have done web searches, hoping to find an electric pump to do the operation. The results produced only ads for very large machines, around $250-$300, which are much more powerful than that which I think I need.

Any suggestions?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
You can buy a wet dry vac. They work pretty good. They are heavy when full but has wheels and drain.
kwtank41 said:
Yo, Folks!

I am a newbie on the forum, but I have been trying to set up a stable pond for the past ten years or so, with varying degrees of lack of success. What I have now is in the front yard, and measures about 4'X6', maybe 16" deep. For plants, I have a plastic tub with water lilies, cattails, and a flower my sister-in-law gave me, some sort of iris, I think. The fish are a robust family of dime store goldfish, which I have had for years.

My problem is, the yard borders on some woods, and very close to the pond is a beautiful Mimosa that smells delightful at this time of year, but which generates much detritus, a great deal of which ends up in my little fishpool.