spawning madness

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
I think my fish are spawning. I'm not real sure since I'm new to this whole thing. But they are chasing like crazy and some of my bigger ones are getting pounced on by 2 or three others at a time. Its been going on since yesterday. This morning they didn't even seem interested in stopping to eat some of the food I tossed in. They seem to be pretty rough about it and I noticed on a couple of my goldfish where their sides look white like their orange was rubbed off or something. Also noticed this morning that one of the new koi seems to be getting involved in the chasing. I'm worried about them hurting themselves, especially after seeing the sides on a couple of them. Yesterday evening almost all of them were trying to climb my waterfall. It was quite a sight, and while some of them made it up a few inches the water just rushed them back down. Is there anything I should do to help keep them from getting hurt? Or should I just sit back and let nature run its course?

Also does spawning effect the water chemistry? I had my water tested yesterday and had all good readings, lots of zeros. This morning though my pond is looking a little greenish (but still looks clear when i put some in a glass. Not surehow I could end up with an algae bloom if my nitrites and nitrates are both zero. Doesn't algae need nutrients to grow? I don't know my water temperature, although can't imagine its too warm. Its still been lower 40's and 30's at night here and only 60 or so during the day. And it did rain pretty good last night. One of the twins shattered my floating thermometer, and when I went to get another one they were out of stock. Here's some pics of the water, I'd add a video of the fish too, but I don't know how to attach videos. It sure was entertaining watching them try to swim up the waterfall though....

Attachments

• WP_001163.jpg
    WP_001163.jpg
    58.8 KB · Views: 299
  • WP_001165.jpg