Stock

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi thank you for letting me join I'm new to ponds I have just finished a 12ft x 6ft x 2 ft pond and would like to know how many small goldfish I can have

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
WElcome and remember goldfish breed like crazy .You are better with fat fantails ,they do not breed much and come in lots of pretty colors and that butt wiggle swim they do is so cute

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
WElcome and remember goldfish breed like crazy .You are better with fat fantails ,they do not breed much and come in lots of pretty colors and that butt wiggle swim they do is so cute
Thanks I will look out for the wiggle

IPA

Reaction score
63b Chesapeake-Pamlico Lowlands and Tidal Marshes
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
Welcome. Do you have some pictures? I like shubunkin, comets, and sarasa comets. I think a common guideline is 1 inch of fish per 10 gallons for their adult potential which is between 6 to 10 inches (larger possible); 8 is a good bet.

If the sides are straight down you'd have about 1,000 gallons so 8x1 would be 80 gallons per fish so no more than 12. I'd start with half of that and see if they spawn. If the sides are sloping then less water so less fish.

If you do go with the wiggles don't mix comet body fish as the single tails will outcompete the fancies for food.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States