Taking care of 16,000 gal pond

Reaction score
Hello all. I am very new to the pond "scene" and am helping a friend who just became the proud owner of a 16,000 + gallon koi pond. I have one main question concerning the pond. It is a spring fed pond and the previous owners took the pump (had been using a sump pump) they had been using on the pond, so it had no real movement until we installed a 5,000 gph pump for the pond. Now I have done some research and I know that sump pumps are no good for ponds containing fish, and have read that koi ponds need a pump that can turn the pond's water volume over once every 2-4 hours. My main question pertains to this pump; Is the pump truly sufficient enough for the pond, or should we invest in a bigger pump?

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
another-fish-welcome.gif

Welcome

Well I don't have koi, but most koi keepers say you need to turn over every 1/2 to 1 hour. But since you said it is spring fed, I assume it is getting fresh water all of the time?

What kind of filters does the pond have?

Reaction score
It does get fresh water all of the time, and is constantly, slowly spilling over into the overflow.

Filter wise, it has never had a filter placed in the pond in the 15+ years it's been there. We have discussed installing one.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
JewelledDragonflywelcome.gif
jumpin
Hi and I would think it would be fine if it's constantly getting fresh water and you now have the new pump in there also.
Would love to see pics of it.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome jumpin the one thing you is this a lined pond or just dirt bottom and how many do you think is it and what of fish are in it .I see a lot of ponds in VA and most seem to be dirt bottom and are also spring fed .

addy1

Reaction score
Showcase(s):