The Hole is Too Big!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
I am brand new to ponds but I am reading as much as I can as fast as I can. I bought my house eight years ago with a "three-season pond" on it. I call it "my big hole in the ground." Whoever built it lined it with large rocks and boulders but no liner, and the water drained out or dried up in the summer. I finally decided to line it and expand it outward, keeping the length. My friend owns a backhoe and he removed the rocks, but a bit more off the end too. I want to keep the pond to 25' x 30' x 4' at the deepest. Will I be able to fill in about three feet at the end and have it hold up under the liner? I can't tell you much about my soil - not sandy, not really clay, but full of rocks. Should I fill the end in with boulders? Thanks.
Martha

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
You’ll have to make sure what you fill it in with is well settled, fill it in with the dirt/rock, water it well, and let it sit. Time and weather will do the job. But, with rocky ground, you’ll need to protect your liner. Old carpet scraps work well from what I’ve gathered, you can often get them from places like Lowe’s or places that sell and install carpet. Just make sure there’s no nails or staples in it.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
You’ll have to make sure what you fill it in with is well settled, fill it in with the dirt/rock, water it well, and let it sit. Time and weather will do the job. But, with rocky ground, you’ll need to protect your liner. Old carpet scraps work well from what I’ve gathered, you can often get them from places like Lowe’s or places that sell and install carpet. Just make sure there’s no nails or staples in it.