Trying to create a pondless waterfall

Reaction score
Country
United States
I have no experience building a pondless waterfall. I want 2 directions for the water to flow into the Aquablocks. I have one area carved out to the right and another carved out to the left for the waterflow.

Will a 5000 GPH pump be enough for this?

Is this a decent pump: https://www.thepondguy.com/product/the-pond-guy-rapidflo-clear-water-pump/?

Should I use a pump vault for this small area? Are there any -decent- cheap pump vaults?

The picture attached is a work in progress. Pondless waterfall.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
Welcome! I have no experience with pondless waterfalls - but there are some wonderful videos out there from the pros! I would suggest going to YouTube and going to the channels for Team Aquascape, Atlantis Water Gardens, and others. I haven't had enough coffee just yet to come up with more names! :LOL:

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
This has a good calculator to help determine pump size. Scroll down to step one and select pondless.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I'm a bit confused - how would you NOT use a pump vault? Unless you mean just dropping a pump into the lined basin? What would you cover the pump with? I have seen people use aquablox for the pump - drop the pump inside the block and then put the final side on to close up the box. But I'd be a bit concerned about keeping rocks out of the pump space. You could use something as simple as a 5 gallon bucket with a lid drilled full of holes.

You do plan to use EPDM, right? Maybe a dumb question, but we've had people here complaining about leaky waterfalls only to realize they thought they could make water flow over rocks without liner underneath...

Reaction score
Country
United States