where did my fish go?

Reaction score
i live in NJ. we were away for four days and returned yesterday. when i looked in the pond (1k gal) all my fish were gone. i have about 35 mostly around 6-8 inches (1 large 10") all goldfish. can't figure it out (e-mail address removed)& ? first thought someone stole them but no signs of unusual disturbance. but since i had about 4 completely dark brown fish that they wouldn't have taken the time to see them nor want to take to time to fish "all" of them out of my pond. then thought predators since the red maple dropped most of their leaves recently giving a chance that birds can see them from high. maybe racoons who would have the eyesight and patience in the dark?

gave them all up for dead until early this morning i thought i saw a few (maybe 4 or so) darting around at the bottom.

i'm new to ponding and bought the house summer 2010. lost some fish over last winter as i didn't have a clue on what or how to winterize. but this year was diligent at dead leaf removal daily and ran filter since the spring where the clear water may have been a problem allowing visibility of fish.

since i've never cleaned the pond, i have big rocks about the 12" diameter over a liner. is it possible that there is enough space to house the fish? do they bury themselves in mud? (i'm not sure of the bottom but didn't think the muck was that deep.

would they all do to "sleep" at the same date?

i just thought they floated at the bottom pretty much motionless the entire winter.

sorry for asking so much but now i'm not sure if i should winterize now. i was planning to place a bubbler this winter.

thx,

HARO

Pondcrastinator
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
Canada
By all means go ahead and winterize your pond. If the fish are hiding in the rocks, you will give them a better chance of survival by keeping a hole in the ice to let gases escape, and you'll probably get a pleasant surprise in the spring! John

sissy

sissy
Reaction score