Winter feeding

Reaction score
I am completely new to the world of Koi ponds. This summer I dug a 4,000 gallon pond, went through what apparently are the new pond cycles, pea soup, string algae etc. When I started up the pond mid July I put in all the conditioners, bacteria and whatever else was suggested. When the water quality seemed to test correctly with the test strips I put in 10 fingerlings to see how they did. One died almost immediately, one apparently jumped out and died on the lawn about two feet away from the edge the other 8 did fine. After about two weeks I introduced three Koi that I was given that had completely overgrown their pond. They range from about 19 to 22 inches. When I went through the string algae I had a hatching. I now have somewhere around 25-30 babies in the 3 to 3 1/2 inch range. My question is winter feeding, the water temp is now hovering around 45 degrees. The ones left from the original 10 are now about 8 inches long and I have the three large. I am not worried about them as they are genarally just down at the bottom not moving much. The fingerlings on the other hand are still darting around the pond and I am concerned about their making it through the winter. I don't want to overfeed them and find them floating upside down and on the other hand I don't want them starving to death either. I am wondering if anyone has experience with small fish making it through the winter and what the necessary steps are.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
My babies make it through the winter here and I just feed them wheat germ food and that is only once a moth if that .I guess some one will chime in that live in your state that will know more .oopps how rude of me welcome to the pond forum and hope you enjoy the info .Good info to add when you post is size and depth of your pond and how you filter it .pics would be great also

Reaction score
Sissy,