Yes we have no bananas, "but we do have a banana Plant".

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
Well its a case of yes we have no bananas but we do have our very first ever banana plant to go by the pond :cool:
We bought it from one of our koi club members who is a hoticultrurist by trade and had done a chat about plants that could go around the pond :LOL:
So being a bit of a banana nut if I might say so myself (y) we bought it and today Val potted it and its now out in the back garden by the pond :) .
By all accounts they are easy to look after like water and if de headed prior to winter then bubble wrapped they should survive the winter
Give it a few months to grow and I'll take a snap of it as at the moment only the first leaf of the year is coming through. :)
m,mmm next question I wonder if I can eat them :cool:

Dave;)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
Give it a little chance to grow first sunshine it needs lots of sun which we get loads of in the South West of the UK during the summer so photo's then I'm afraid :(

Dave ;)

Reaction score
Yummers! We have some banana plants around our pond too. They are very little maintenance here. We don't do anything to them. And once they shoot the bananas, they die back and another one pops up. There are loads of different kinds. We have apple bananas, they are small and sweet.

Good luck with it!!!!

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I got 3 banana plants last year from my sisters neighbor and over wintered them in the basement .I put them out side and they will be planted by my pond .I can't wait to see how they grow

Attachments

• pond bananas 008.JPG
    pond bananas 008.JPG
    151.2 KB · Views: 305
  • pond bananas 009.JPG
    pond bananas 009.JPG
    128.3 KB · Views: 296
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom