55g drum filter design

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello everyone. I decided to join this forum to get some advice and inspiration. I recently bought a house and the previous owner had a pond in the backyard. It is, however, a bit run down and needs some love. I want to give it a full filter and clean up the plants, but I need some help with the filter design. I'm including pictures of the pond and a sketch of the design I have so far. A bit overkill, I know, but I want to over build this to worry less.

Please note that the pond has no water outlet. So I have to either put a pump in the pond to push water out into the filter or figure out a way to put the pump in the filter itself and pull water in.

Any and all input on the design is greatly appreciated. I'm new to this and could use some help.

Thank you!

Attachments

• FB_IMG_1591368402998.jpg
    FB_IMG_1591368402998.jpg
    215.8 KB · Views: 110
  • FB_IMG_1591368407098.jpg
    FB_IMG_1591368407098.jpg
    191.6 KB · Views: 119
  • FB_IMG_1591368412937.jpg
    FB_IMG_1591368412937.jpg
    36.1 KB · Views: 149
Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
Welcome @Steve91 :) You've uncovered a lovely pond. I have a 1700 gallon pond and one of my filters is a 55 gallon sand & gravel filter. The pump is in my skimmer and the filter is gravity fed back to the pond.

Reaction score