Alternative fish food

Reaction score
Sorry if this has previously been covered. I'm still a newbie.
I was just wondering if there's any alternatives to your standard koi/ fish pellets. I went to my local aquatic centre earlier and in one of there Koi tanks they had a huge slice of water melon which the koi seemed to love munching on. I have 3 koi, and about 20 various goldfish, shubunkins, comets. I'm now feeding them wheat germ as my water temp is below 10 degrees c. Any other alternatives out there?

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Once you drop below 10c ONLY feed wheat germ if anything. It's a good food and will help clean the intestines for the winter. In the spring once you start back feeding start off with split english or sweet peas. remove the outer skin and feed them the pulp. helps restart the intestinal tract back working as temps climb back above 10c, wheat germ can be fed during that time as well. As for treats, watermelon, dew melon, cantalope, berries, squash, cherrios regular and honey nut, wheat bread, rice, peas, cucumber, and zuchinni can all be fed as treats. be sure and remove all seeds before feeding, do not leave any uneaten food for more than about 30 minutes. If it's not eaten by then remove and try again another day. When trying one that hasn't been given before they may not eat it the first few tries .Once they know and like they will eat any of the foods listed pretty fast.

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States