An absolute beginner

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
Good morning! I'm excited to find this forum. After many years of hoping, wishing, and dreaming aloud, it looks like I may be able to build a pond! For the most part, cost has been holding us back. To do what I want to do, and to do it right, will cost some money. A pond will be a luxury! Not sure why my husband finally said it would be OK to go for it, but I am thrilled! I am currently working on finishing a dry creek (VERY long) that we started years ago. Again, cost has been the hold-up there. Rocks are expensive! For now, I will be doing research and working on ideas. So happy to be on here and can't wait to read!

callingcolleen1

mad hatter
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4a
Country
Canada
Welcome From Medicine Hat!! I have had a pond for many years now, and it does not have to cost a arm and a leg if you do it yourself! I only paid for rocks once, and you are right they are expensive. I now get all the rocks I need from the outskirts of town, there on a farmers field and down by the river, where I walk my dogs everyday. I have been dragging rocks home for twenty years now, and now have so many I am cobbling around the pond. I feed my old koi dog food, high quality dog food for over ten years now they love it and eat out of my hand. Years ago I dug plants out of the creek and got some for free here and there. Some things you will need to get, a good quality liner and good pump and filter. I never needed a UV light, only had pea green water the first year, thst was over 22 years ago now. You don't need a uv light, you can get a good clump of sedges and they will clean the pond really good!
Good luck and excited for you!!! :joyful:

Attachments

• IMAG4022.jpg
    IMAG4022.jpg
    312.7 KB · Views: 277
  • IMAG4061.jpg
    IMAG4061.jpg
    240.9 KB · Views: 246

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States