Block walled pool

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Im in need of a testing tank built indoors on a solid concrete floor. As well as a test tank im planning on putting some fish in. We work in the angling trade so will be a nice feature for customers to see.

My question is will a breezeblock 4 sided/walled pool built directly on top of a concrete floor be stong enough to withstand the pressure. The size of the pool is 3m long x 1.5m wide x 1.4m high.

Also, what filter and drainage systems would be suitable in this?

Apologies if this has been covered before,
TIA, Dave

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome.

Sorry, I can’t help you, but what is a “testing tank”? And what kind of fish will you have?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
The pressures are far greater the deeper you go add wider and longer to deeper and the numbers multiply quickly. sorry i am not a engineer but if you look hard enough i'd bet there is a Cinder block wall calculator . i myself over build everything i get my hands on . I am a firm believer in build it once and build it to last. The cost to buy some rebar drill it into the concrete deck build the block wall with the bars in the center and pour the block full with Concrete or grout . This will with stand a ton of pressure. Try you tube your size is extremely common and i would be someone has a video on their build

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States