complete noob...

Reaction score
Hi,
i need help lots of it please!
i feel odd being the noob posting. the forums i normally post in i am the expert.
time to humble myself and beg for mercy and yes i have read thru a good number of posts.

so i built a 3 level pond (3 total) waterfalls on a side of a slope most if it in direct sun

each one is 10 x 6 x 30-36" deep

my neighbor has a smaller 2 level pond set up and has it for 8 yrs
he uses no filter has at least 20 fish (koi) the largest is about 12"
his edm has moss or something growing on it and has fairly dirty water yet his fish do not die? he hs one large plant

while prior to building i did look around the web more at what building products were used rather than paying attention to filtration
i finished it toward the end of summer last yr and since i also have no filter it got somewhat dirty but then winter set in.
i turned off the pump for the winter
all 4 of my fish survived

well with this very hot spring i am already getting what looks like polyps growing and the water is pretty dirty.

regardless of what my neighbor says i know i need a filter.

my pump is a 2500GPH from homedepot (yeah i know amateur) It has 1.5" pipe that runs about 25' and up about 7'

and just shoots into the top pond (never liked the force it has)

so question 1, how is it my neighbors fish live? when he gave me a fish last week that poor fish swam at the top in what looked like he was gasping for air
now he has settled down and tends to hang out at the bottom

2) i have seen these filter box/ waterfalls, but they always say use with a skimer.
why cant i just attach it to the pump like i have it?

3) how bad is it to add water from my hose

thanks for the help

Scott

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a