Filter(s) for stock tank quarantine

Reaction score
Country
United States
So im building a quarantine tank and a grow tank to keep some plants in the winter and to feed some small fish over the winter to grow, like now I have a couple koi that are small that I want to bring em in and feed them a little till spring.

Now the filter well I guess filters. So, I was thinking of using the bottom drain on the rubbermaid stock tank to tie into a bog section (that'll have the plants with a grow light over it) then a small pump in a little box in the box will flow to a diy window sill planter box trickle filter that's 2-3 levels high that flows down to the tank.

My first question, im still new to this so basically. Will this work pretty efficiently or Will I have issues none stop?

Second, what would be the ideal material for the window box trickle tower. Would I use some bio media or filter pads or both. It will be low flow of course.

Thanks all! Can't wait to get started as soon as I can!

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
2a
Country
Canada
What water temperature do you expect your quarantine tank to be at during the winter?
If it's not warm enough, your filter and biofilm may not set up and function properly.

Reaction score
Country
United States
What water temperature do you expect your quarantine tank to be at during the winter?
If it's not warm enough, your filter and biofilm may not set up and function properly.

I totally forgot about that! Goal is about 65 and I've been told the bio film won't be working at its max. Shoot, Erm, any suggestions for a alternative?

What size tank and how many 'small' fish? Trickle filters work great, but overall flow rate is very important.