Fish attacked ? Heron

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
B0A075F4-875B-475B-BCCE-BE6924B3C252.jpeg
9C17097A-E5A3-4253-80A1-AE6FB4FA9DE8.jpeg
2A6DB8FF-921E-4C2C-860A-3C5E3F3789A9.jpeg
Seeking advice as unfortunately I’m a nurse not a vet! believe my fish was attacked by heron a week ago today, luckily (maybe) saved by the netting across the pond. Think that I found him shortly afterwards and moved him out of the pond. Surprised he went 24 hours after the nasty chunk taken out of him, even more so that he has gone a week. Have kept him separate and changed about 30% of the water daily, bought filter to help also to prevent any infection.

What I want to know is will he heal further? What can I do to help? Am I being cruel keeping him alive?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
:( Pains me to look at the picture...poor guy. Was it just the one fish and these are several views of it? Do you see any sign of healing?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
:( Pains me to look at the picture...poor guy. Was it just the one fish and these are several views of it? Do you see any sign of healing?
Just the one guy, different views. Seems to be healing as far as the wound is concerned from a medical point of view but then could be something I am not seeing

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
It's hard to tell but in the second photo it looks like the tail is really streaky and red which could mean severe infection like septicemia? It would be hard to imagine a living thing with such a severe injury NOT having an infection of some sort. Maybe someone more familiar with disease or illness will chime in but it doesn't look great from my perspective. Could you get another photo of the side of the fish just to make sure I'm not seeing things that aren't there?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
2C4A4358-95FE-440D-BE06-8980312CC603.jpeg